Toffee

Toffee

Sometimes recipes go wrong, we have all been there, and you panic, throw it all away and think what a waste of time, effort and money.

This was supposed to be millionaires shortbread… As you can see it is not! I followed the recipe (click on the picture) exactly, and what I ended up with was a lovely delicious shortbread, and hard toffee, not caramel, not soft and chewy, hard brittle toffee, but both elements were still delicious, so… What to do?

I cut the short bread off the toffee, covered it in melted chocolate and had two yummy treats, yummy toffee and chocolate covered shortbread…

I guess what I’m saying is sometimes things go wrong, but don’t panic, be creative and use your initiative. I think boiling the caramel for a shorter time would result in a gooey but set caramel, so have a go and let me know., but remember to stir constantly otherwise it catches at the bottom of the sauce pan.

Happy baking x

One thought on “Toffee

  1. Pingback: L’Eau De Toffee | iwantmarbles

Leave a comment